Fake PayPal E-mails From systemtek.co.uk Domain

We have been made aware of a number of fake PayPal e-mails that appear to be from our systemtek.co.uk domain name.

Just to confirm, these e-mails are not been sent by us, they are spoofed.

An example is :-

From: [email protected] <[email protected]>
Sent: Wednesday, October 17, 2018 10:32:07 AM
To: [email protected]
Subject: Receipt Update (GB272857492836289367)

The “From” address appears to be a random PayPal address and a random systemtek.co.uk address, neither addresses are valid.

The “Subject” GB number appears to be different on each e-mail.

The web link appears to be a page on the punelancer.com domain, we suspect this site has been hijacked.  The link contains the recipient e-mail address. The link when checked shows as malicious.

Duncan Newell

Duncan is a technology professional with over 20 years experience of working in various IT roles. He has a interest in cyber security, and has a wide range of other skills in radio, electronics and telecommunications.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: