Items that are deleted from a shared mailbox go to the wrong folder in Outlook [RESOLVED]

By design when you use Microsoft Outlook to delete items from a mailbox folder of another user (or shared mailbox) for whom you have deletion privileges, the deleted items go to your Deleted Items folder rather than to the Deleted Items folder of the mailbox owner.

You can change this via a registry key on the local client PC.

  1. Quit Outlook.
  2. Start Registry Editor. To do this, use one of the following procedures, as appropriate for your version of Windows.
    • Windows 8 and Windows 10: Press Windows Key + R to open a Run dialog box. Type regedit.exeand then press OK.
    • Windows 7: Click Start, type regedit.exein the search box, and then press Enter.
  3. Locate the registry key that is appropriate for your version of Outlook. HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\x.0\Outlook\Options\General Note – The x.0 placeholder represents your version of Office (16.0 = Office 2016, Office 2019 or Office 365, 15.0 = Office 2013, 14.0 = Office 2010, 12.0 = Office 2007). You may need to create the General key first.
  4. Right-click the DelegateWastebasketStyle value, and then click Modify.

    If the key is not present, use the following steps to create it:
    1. Right-click the General folder in the path that is defined in step 4 in the “To Switch the Destination of Deleted Items” section earlier in this article.
    2. Point to New, and then click DWORD Value.
    3. Type DelegateWastebasketStyle, and then press Enter.
  5. Change the value data in the Edit DWORD Value dialog box to one of the following values:
    • 8 = Stores deleted items in your folder.
    • 4 = Stores deleted items in the mailbox owner’s folder.Note Make sure that the delegate user has at least Author level rights for the Deleted Items folder of the owner’s mailbox. If the delegate does not have these rights, and this registry option is set to 4, then either the item is deleted permanently or the user receives one of the following error messages:
    • The item could not be deleted, it was either moved or already deleted, or access was denied.
    • Operation Failed.
    • Some items cannot be deleted. They were either moved or already deleted, or access was denied.
    • Could not complete the deletion. The items may have been already deleted or moved.
  • Quit Registry Editor.
  • Restart Outlook.

Duncan Newell

Duncan is a technology professional with over 20 years experience of working in various IT roles. He has a interest in cyber security, and has a wide range of other skills in radio, electronics and telecommunications.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: